Posted by: doras_explorations | September 13, 2008

Cane of the Week, 9/13/08, Laundromat Inspired

In an earlier post , I described a floor tile pattern I discovered at my
local laundromat.  I thought the design would make a great cane, and took
a photograph of it for future reference.  One of my readers mentioned that the pattern resembled a quilt block known as ‘Card Trick’.  Although
I am a big fan of quilts and quilt patterns, I had never heard of this one. 

      Quilt patterns are a wonderful source of inspiration for cane designs.  Judith Skinner’s video, Precision Caning, demonstrates how to build a beautifully shaded ‘log cabin quilt cane’.  Judy Belcher’s DVD, Millefiore Story, also features step by step instructions for building a quilt block cane, and cutting and reassembling it to make different variations.  Jennifer Patterson’s website Quilted in Clay is loaded with information, tools, and products related to clay quilting, as well as marvelous quilt patterened jewelry.  She sells a ‘Clay Disc Set and Adapter Ring’  for extruding shapes used in building a quilt cane with the standard Kemper and Sculpey Clay Guns.  It is a wonderful set (I have one, of course!), but to be honest, I do not use clay extruders very much because I am too lazy to load the things and clean them out between colors !  I have no experience with the PCE extruders, which are larger in size and have a huge array of dies, but they are certainly worth checking out !  The advantage of the using an extruder, of course, is that you get perfectly uniform and precise shapes that would be extremely difficult to achieve using a roller and blade.  
  
      Well, that’s enough of the introduction and background information….Let us proceed to the Laundromat-uh, Card Trick-cane.  You will notice that I have changed the orientation of the ‘cards’ from the original quilt pattern.  I did this because I would have had to use a lot more of the ‘background’ clay at the corners.  I used about 3 ounces/85 g of clay for each of the pattern colors, and about 9 ounces/255g for the background color, but I never measure so these are rough estimates.  The point is that you want to make sure you have PLENTY of the background color !

    

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Another fantastic tutorial! As I mentioned before, you have a real knack for clear instructions and your photo’s are great!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to do this.

    🙂

  2. I agree with Elsie… the photos are great! I also like all the variations you come up with. Thanks Dora!

  3. What a fantastic cane, Dora! I love how you took a pattern discovered during your everyday travels and translated it into beautiful, artistic canework. Fabulous!

  4. Très joli et original !! Merci
    Valérie

    • Thanks, Valérie ! I’m glad you enjoyed the article !


Leave a Reply

Categories

