Posted by: doras_explorations | October 26, 2008

Cane of the ‘Week’: Feather/Leaf Cane

 

Hi, folks !  Well, in my last blog entry, I mentioned that I would be ‘soon’ posting my latest cane design.  Here it is, 3 weeks later, and I’m finally getting the thing uploaded.  The cane was made, and the steps were photographed.  I even retouched and numbered the photos.  But I simply have not had the time and energy to write the captions and do the editing.  I have mostly myself to blame for this, since I changed the font size and color from the original template to make the text easier to see.  This requires that I toggle back and forth between ‘visual’ and ‘HTML’ modes, and it’s a royal pain in the butt.  The result is a less  ‘polished’ look than the original blog template, but if I reduce my readers’ eyestrain, it’s worth it ! 

     

I call this my ‘feather cane’, although the design can be easily adapted to make a leaf.  There are quite a few ‘feather cane’ techniques and variations out there: http://twistedkneads.com/featherhow.html    http://www.polymerclaycentral.com/kato_feather1.html  http://www.polkadotcreations.com/books/article.php?id=pdcrm01 http://www.pcpolyzine.com/0210october/feather0210pt3.html

    

My feather cane is not a ‘ground-breaking original’ technique, but rather a combination of various techniques to which I’ve added my own particular twist.  Like many of my canes, it starts out as a Skinner blend.  I generally use 3-4 colors, but of course that is a personal choice.  I especially like to use complementary colors on each end of the blend with white and/or analogous colors in the middle, for example: violet; blue; green; yellow.
So without further ado, here’s my version of a feather cane, enjoy !

Responses

  1. Ooooo I love making these! I really like your color combination. Very nice! Glad to see you back making canes Dora! Missed you!

  2. Very cool, Dora! I can hardly wait until this job is over! I love seeing the new entries!!!!!

  3. yah!! one of my fav’s to make. And welcome back….sort of back that is. Until 18 work days are gone then you are really back back….er. you know what I mean 🙂

  4. Great tutorial Dora! way to go!

    Hugs!

    Ruth

  5. Thanks, Cindy, Susan, Kathi, and Ruth !!! I’m so glad you liked it ! I will be very glad when I have more time and energy to devote to the blog and the caning. Meanwhile, thanks for sticking around during my ‘semi-hiatus’ !

  6. I loved your feather cane, Dora, when you showed us at the guild. As I didn’t write any instructions down at the time, I was thrilled to see your post. Thanks for sharing, I love your colors!

  7. Excellent tutorial as usual. You do a fabulous job at sharing!!!

    Thanks so much.

    Elsie

  8. Thanks, Karen and Elsie !

  9. Thanks, Karen and Elsie !

  10. Thanks so much for your kind comments on my tutorial for mirror beads. They are such fun to do and always surprising. Your tutorial is great. Thanks for sharing, I can now really appreciate what it takes to post an understandable photo tutorial.

  11. Hey Dora!

    It’s your tablemate from Sarah Shriver’s workshop. I just adore your website and admire you for the high level of effort and love that you’ve put into the tutorials. It’s because of wonderful folks like you that so many of us have been able to teach ourselves, create, and even teach others.

    Since seeing you in July, I went to France to take a class with Tory Hughes at Gwen Gibson’s retreat, La Cascade. Tres magnifique!!! I can’t make it in June for Sarah’s class; maybe we could do a class together at another time. I had fun with you! KIT!
    Yours in PC,
    Carol

  12. Hi Carol, good to hear from you !! I’m glad you like my tutorials. I haven’t had much time for them lately due to taking a temporary ‘real’ job, but it will be mercifully over next Friday, Nov. 21st, and I can once again play with the clay.
    Wow, that Tory Hughes workshop in France sounds awesome ! What a marvelous experience that must have been !
    I’m sure we will meet again at another workshop, I’ve promised to treat myself to a few now and then, as my funds allow..They are such a fabulous learning experience.
    Clay on!
    Dora

  13. preciosos esos canes como me gustan…………

  14. Im genuinely enjoying the style and layout of one’s website. Its a very uncomplicated on the eyes which makes it a great deal much more enjoyable for me to come here and pay a visit to far more typically. Did you hire out a designer to make your theme? Excellent perform! fcdefdgdddbk

    • Thanks for the kind words! I did not hire a designer for my blog, I just made a couple of modifications to a Word Press template.

  15. I love it!! Thanks so much for the hard work you put into your posts, clear and easy to understand tutorials are the foundation of craft exploration, I would never try anything new if it wasn’t for the effort that you put forth in helping your readers! So from the bottom of my heart, thank you again for your hard work, it has not gone unnoticed:) namaste

    • Thanks so much ! It has been so long since I have been blogging about my polymer clay ‘explorations’. Alas, real life has put a damper on my muse, I can only hope she returns soon. Since I started this blog, the number of polymer clay on-line tutorials has skyrocketed! It is gratifying to know there are still folks who find my posts informative and helpful when there are so many amazing polymer clay artists out there.
      Happy Creating!


Leave a Reply

Categories

