Posted by: doras_explorations | January 13, 2009

Cane for the Week of 1/11/09

     Happy New Year to all !!! I don’t know about you, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that 2009 is a better year for this planet than 2008 was!  I avoid making New Year’s resolutions because I already beat myself enough for all the things I ‘should ‘ be doing.  However if I did make resolutions, one of them would be to post my “Cane of the Week” feature every week !  But it is a resolution that I doubt I can keep.  I don’t worry too much about not coming up with ideas for canes, because I think about cane designs a lot  (the shower is my favorite place for visualizing new canes, and I take long showers, LOL!), but editing photos and uploading them to this blog is another story.  It is a painfully slow, tedious, and frustrating process for me.  If only I had an assistant to do this !  At the very least, it would be nice to be able to compose the entire blog off line and paste the whole thing, text, photos, captions and all, into WordPress.  Maybe there is a way to do that, but I certainly haven’t figured it out, and don’t have the $$ to hire someone to teach me.

      Anyway, this week I was playing around with a cane design that starts with a Skinner blend roll.  Here are some slices of the cane using various color combinations.  For want of a better term, I will call it my ‘anemone cane’  because it reminds me of a sea anemoneanemonecaneslices

        Like most polymer clay canes, I’m sure others have made a cane similar or identical to this one, so I’m not claiming ‘ownership’ of this design.   Besides the different color combinations, I also varied the procedure slightly, either on purpose or by accident !  I must admit that a lot of my designs are derived from mistakes and screw ups.    I now present to you the steps for making my anemone cane, specifically the yellow one shown in the above photo.  Instead of captions, I took the lazy way out and wrote the steps on sticky notes.  Hopefully, they are legible !  My closeup vision stinks, but I actually found the stickies to be easier to read than the captions.  Some of the photos have no notes or captions, but I think they are pretty much self-explanatory.

dsc_1659

dsc_1662dsc_1664dsc_1665dsc_1666dsc_1671

I cut the Skinner roll in half to make 2 pieces.

I cut the Skinner roll in half to make 2 pieces.

One roll was left intact (one on right), the other was divided as shown at the left.  Now there are 4 pieces.
One roll was left intact (one on right), the other was divided as shown at the left. Now there are 4 pieces.

dsc_1681dsc_1684dsc_16892dsc_16903dsc_1695dsc_1696dsc_1697dsc_1698

So there you have it !  Not too difficult, except for getting the ‘spokes’ to meet exactly in the center! 

Responses

  1. oooh! Thank you! kscopes made simple. Which is good as they are NOT my forte.

  2. hey!! how fun! i’ve been playing with polymer clay recently. i love it!!

    http://cherbie.etsy.com

  3. Welcome to the world of polymer clay, Cherbie, one of the most addictive substances known to man, LOL ! There are so many wonderful sources of information out there; books, DVDs, on-line tutorials, workshops, etc…When I started claying 12 years ago very few folks had ever heard of the stuff.
    Thanks for dropping by , Elaine ! Your flower canes are gorgeous, and those are not MY forte !

  4. Happy New Year, Dora! It was so great to see you last week.
    This is amazing that you created these fabulous canes from one Skinner blend roll. I love the depth you’ve achieved from the blend. The possibilities with the design are unlimited!

  5. thanks!! yes! having lotsaaa fun! now just need to get a pasta roller …

  6. Happy New Year Dora! Great cane design… looks exactly like an anemone! Really love the turquoise/brown color combination! Right up my alley!

  7. Thanks, Cindy ! I really like the turquoise and brown combination too….I always avoided combining blue and brown in canes until quite recently. In fact I stayed away from all complementary color schemes (yellow/purple, blue/orange, red/green, etc) because I was afraid to make ‘mud’….Last summer I took a kaleidoscope cane class with Sarah Shriver, and she really expanded my color horizons. Her color sense is amazing, as is obvious from viewing her work !

  8. Hi Dora…i found your work very creative and unique…and its something I can see very often…or what every other person creates…amazing..!!

  9. Hi Dora..wanted to know how i can get updates from your blog to mine….I thought it would be gr8 if we could follow each others blogs.

  10. Thanks, Aarti, for visiting my blog and for your kind words. You can subscribe to it by clicking on the “Subscribe to Bloglines” bar located at the right below the Flickr Photos and Archives bars.

  11. hi Dora- Nice demo!!! hope all is well with you.

    Kristin

    • Thanks, Kristin, nice to hear from you ! I like your blog too, just checked it out.

  12. Hi Dora! Thanks for the link to my blog!!!! Tell everyone at RIPCG I said hello!!!!

    Kristin

  13. thanks! this is a great resource!

  14. Wow, that is absolutely fantastic. I am totally going to have to give this design a try next time I have the urge to work with clay!

    • thanks, Jennifer, I’m glad you like it !

  15. Love this cane, can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing it with us

  16. Glad I found your blog. I have a question/problem: I got lost between steps 10 and 11. How does cutting the equilateral triangle in 10 produce the equilateral triangle in 11? Are the two halves recombined somehow? (I don’t mean step 12.) How can they be recombined and produce an equilateral triangle? Wouldn’t putting two equilateral triangles together produce a diamond? Help! I must be missing something! Thanks.

    • Hi Larry ! Thanks for visiting my blog, I don’t check in too often since it has been inactive for a while. I’m hoping to start a new blog in the near future. Regarding your question re: forming the ‘first’ equilateral triangle; After forming the Skinner roll cane (the round cane), you would cut the round cane into 2 equal pieces. One of the 2 pieces stays round, and is not cut further. The other piece is first cut in half across the ‘equator’. Then you take one of the halves and cut that half again from ‘north to south’ to form 2 quarter pieces. So now you have a round uncut cane, a half of a round cane and 2 quarters of a round cane. You then arrange the pieces so the round cane is on the bottom, the half cane piece is on top, and the two quarter cane pieces are placed on either side of the round cane. you will notice that there is a gap between the 2 quarter cane pieces and the round cane, this gap must be filled with 2 small clay triangles. Once you have all these pieces in place, the next step is not to cut the pieces, but to use your hands/fingers to shape these pieces to form an equilateral triangle. Once the triangle has been formed, then you proceed with the cutting. I hope I answered your question for you, and didn’t cause more confusion!!

  17. Thanks for the quick response. I followed all the steps in your reply, but my problem begins with the cutting. Not sure how to explain this. The original triangle (sliced) has one big circle in the middle. According to the next photo, it has two circles, as if it had cloned itself. I’m confused about how a cut alone could produce this effect. Is there a step missing? (By the way, I found the cane on the clayplayliz Free Polymer Clay Tutorials site and only later found your blog. My numbering of the steps are from those photos.) Again, thank you for your time.

    • Larry, I will take a look at the tutorial on the site you mentioned, perhaps that will help me to understand your question. I’m not giving up, LOL!

    • Yes, I think I found the skipped step !!!! Indeed, the photo shows a triangle with one circle in the middle, followed by a photo of a triangle with two circles ! It appears that I skipped the step where I cut the triangle cane with the one circle in half, then put the 2 halves together and reshaped it into an equilateral triangle with two circles. Wow, I’m surprised that I didn’t notice that before !!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

