Posted by: doras_explorations | July 30, 2009

I’m Baaaaaack !!!!!

     It’s been a while since my last post.   I know I shouldn’t make excuses (a blogging ‘no-no’, I’ve read !), but I’m going to anyway, LOL!  After many agonizing hours of uploading photos and captions to WordPress, and waiting for my 7 year laptop to go through its very slow paces, I decided that enough is enough.  It was time to buy a new laptop, and take out my wallet-or more accurately to pull out my Visa card !-and go shopping.  Although I understand computer basics, and can figure out how to run most programs, the technical details are still Greek to me.  All I knew is that I wanted more memory, a faster processor, and a dedicated graphics card so photos and other visuals would load faster and I could store lots of them.  After a few days of  dusk to dawn on-line research and comparison shopping, I finally decided on a Toshiba Tecra A-10.  My last 2 laptops were also Toshibas, and I got a lot of mileage out of them, so why switch brands?  My toy arrived on Monday, so I’ve been moving my files and photos from my old workhorse.  Aren’t flash drives wonderful?   It never ceases to amaze me how much data fits into something the size of a keychain !

        That was Excuse #1 of ‘why I have not posted’.  Excuse #2:  This past weekend, I attended Klay Karma 2009, a 3-day retreat of about 60 fellow polymer clay artists.  We clayed from sunup to sundown (and far beyond!), socialized, viewed demonstrations, ate at lot, and slept very little.  It was awesome!  Here’s a shot of our workroom in all its chaotic glory:

P7250099

       Looks like fun, doesn’t it ?  Since I had attended Klay Karma in 2005 and 2007, I got to see a lot of old friends and make new ones. 

      I presented a demonstration of my plaid cane to an appreciative and patient audience.  I had prepared quite extensively the week prior to the retreat, so people wouldn’t have to waste time watching me condition clay.  Thanks to years of watching Donna Kato  and other polymer clay artists on the Carol Duvall Show,  I have learned what to make ahead of time and what to demonstrate in person.  When I would forget a step or have   ‘senior moment’ while I was assembling the cane parts, my pals would chime in and keep me on track.  My dear friend and fellow RIPCG  guildmate Toine was kind enough to snap many photos during the demonstration, and actually managed to get some decent shots of me !  I hate being photographed, but one must make sacrifices for ones art !  I’m the lady in the yellow shirt in dire need of a visit to the hairdresser.

P7250064

P7250065

P7250086

      All in all, the demo went very well, and quite a few folks decided to make their own plaid canes afterwards.  I enjoyed seeing the different color schemes and individual interpretations of the plaid pattern. 

      Of course, I also attended many demos covering a wide variety of techniques and materials which I plan to incorporate into my own work.  There is just so much talent out there !  Unfortunately, I didn’t take many photos since I was too busy claying and watching others work, but I believe there will be photos posted by Klay Karma organizers and attendees, so I will pass along the links when I find them.

        Anyway, now that I’m home, and have had some time to recover from my busy weekend, I will be once again sitting down with my clay and hopefully coming up with a interesting new cane tutorial in the next few days.   Now that I have a faster computer, uploading my photos and captions won’t be such torture !

Responses

  1. Yea! Are we voting on colors again?

    I’ve been thinking lately about aquamarine, yellowy-gold, and a deep blue-red.

    • That’s not a bad idea to have another ‘color poll’, Kathleen. The colors you mention sound very intriguing. Especially since the red and aquamarine are on opposite sides of the color wheel. I think I’ll try those when I start developing my next cane!
      thanks for the suggestion !

  2. Hi Dora,
    Loved watching you do the plaid cane at Klay Karma and it was nice to put the face behind the blog!

  3. Thanks, Melinda, I had a great time at Klay Karma. The time went by way too fast !

  4. Hey Dora… Sounds like a fun weekend. I’ve always said you are a GREAT teacher. Great pictures and good luck with the laptop.. how exciting.. a new toy!

  5. Hi, Judy !! Hope you’re having a great summer. Your RIPCG friends miss you ! Our guild’s 10th anniversary is in September, we’d love it if you could drop in for a visit !

  6. Hi Dora!
    Thanks for commenting my post.
    Your italian is very good.
    Here I can find 1pack fimo soft at 2,20€ or 1 pack Premo at 3,00€ or 4,00€ (depending on colors).
    I do not sell (for now) my creations, so I have to pay attention on buying.
    In order to have a convenience on buying from America or other countries I would buy a lot of packages and I can not afford that expense for now.
    Thanks for suggestions.

    • Thanks Claudia, for your kind words. My father was Italian (from Rome), so I speak and understand it a little.
      Mamma mia ! Fimo is very expensive in Italy. Che assurdità ! Fimo è fabbricato in Germania !
      Se deciderai qualche giorno di comprare Fimo negli S.U.A., posso aiutare a trovare il migliore prezzo.
      Ciao !

      • Thank you. I’ll keep it in mind.

  7. Thanks Dora for all your great tutorials. You have been such an insperation to me. And speaking of color thanks for introducing me to colorlovers.com wow what fun and all that is there at our finger tips to use. Can’t wait for more from Dora. I try to check in often and look forward to seeing new posts.
    Light and Love 🙂

    • Thanks for your kind words Brenda ! Isn’t Colourlovers a great site? I recently found another site that’s a lot of fun for exploring color:
      http://labs.ideeinc.com/multicolr/
      I love to study and play with colors. I have 3 books on the subject; Margie Deeb’s books “A Beaders Guide to Color” and “The Beaders Color Palette”, and Sandra Wallace’s “The Beader’s Color Mixing Directory”. Now I’m wating for a polymer clay artist to write a book about color !

      • Thanks for the recommdations Dora. I’ll have to look those up. Coloring is fun.

  8. How wonderful to have a faster computer. I got a new one about 3 yrs ago and soon I will probably need another.

    Looks like you had a great time at the retreat! So cute to finally see photos of you. Been following your blog for so long, it’s nice to put a face to the name. Glad to hear your demo went well. I bet everyone loved seeing your techniques in person… I know I would.

    Looking forward to lots of posts from you, now that your computer is up to speed. (I am amazed with flash drives too. Incredible little things!)

    • Hi Cindy ! Yes, Klay Karma was a great experience. I got to spend a weekend with a bunch of very talented people who are as polymer clay obsessed as I am ! What can be better than that? My new computer will definitely make posting easier, although unfortunately it won’t help me come up with new cane ideas, LOL!
      The best thing is that graphics load much more quickly, which is very important to me since I am a very visual person, and spend a lot more time on the Internet looking than reading !

  9. quiero saber donde enseña, o por correo, deme su diression quiero aprender yo vivo en idahomuchas gracias…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

