Posted by: doras_explorations | October 21, 2009

Lulu

     I am briefly interruping my cane tutorial series to share some sad news.  Several days ago, my kitty Lulu disappeared. As usual, she and her roommates Simon and Grady were let outside around 3PM to give them time to run around and take care oftheir ‘business’ before I called them in around 5:30PM for supper.  Grady and Simon returned home before their curfew, but Lulu as usual was taking her sweet time.  At 5:30 I called her, then 6:30, then 7:30, but she was nowhere to be seen.  This was highly unusual even for Lulu, who normally spent time either sunning herself on the deck or hunting in the bushes near
our house.   But she never came home that night, nor the next day or evening, despite a lot of calling and searching.  Those of you who have lost a beloved pet can understand how heartbroken I am.  There is, of course, a slim chance that she will return, but that is highly unlikely, given that she was basically a ‘homebody’ who never strayed very far. 

 

    Lulu was not a lap cat, and liked to be petted only so much before she would walk off to find herself a spot to nap undisturbed.  She was very shy, and stayed away from everyone except me and and my husband.  She was sweet and gentle, yet cautious and skittish.   Lulu was very smart, and good at figuring things out (like how to open the screen door of our slider!).  Another thing she did that impressed me was that she would always check the food dish in the kitchen before approaching me to ‘announce’ that the food dish was empty and would I please refill it.  My other cats never do that, when they get hungry they start wailing and following me around even if their food dish is full, because of course they never check it. 
  In my next post, I plan to describe how I make my polymer clay version of a Zentangle.    Meanwhile, here are a few of my favorite photos of my sweet Lulu, you will find more of them on my Flickr  photostream.  She was much loved and is sadly missed.lululoaf

DSC_0725

DSC_2510

     resting but alert

Responses

  1. Dora, please update if she returns. I’m sending good thoughts your way…I can only imagine how sad you’re feeling.

  2. I hope that Lulu DOES make it back! I’d be crushed if any of the furries that have been in my life wandered off.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about Lulu. We lost a cat in a very similar manner a few years ago. She wen’t out to play and never came back home. We have theories, none of which are pleasant, but we prefer to imagine that she’s been kidnapped and held by some crazy old women who live in the house on the other side of the corn field, where she’s being fed canned food and is lavishly adored. Still, it doesn’t really ease the ache in our hearts when we think of Tipper. I truly believe it’s worse to have them just disappear than it is to find them somewhere after they’ve passed. At least in the later case there’s closure, even though the pain is much worse at first. I hope Lulu comes home. But if she doesn’t, maybe there are some crazy old women in your area that collect kitties and adore them…Most people don’t understand what’s it’s like to lose a furry family member – thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks, everyone, for your kind words, I really appreciate them! It helps to know there are others who understand what it’s like to lose a beloved pet. It is terrible not knowing what happened to her. I would like to believe that some crazy cat lady snatched up Lulu and took her home, but she has always been afraid of people, so it isn’t likely she would get close enough for anyone to ‘kidnap’ her. Of all my cats, she is by far the most cautious and wary, so that has made her disappearance even more difficult to deal with because it is so out of character for her. Still, I guess I shouldn’t completely give up hope, although I am prepared to accept that she isn’t coming home.

  4. I’m so sorry Dora, I know exactly how you feel. My Faust went missing over a year ago and I still miss him terribly…. every time I spot a black cat I have to check it out to make sure it isn’t him. Have you checked the animal shelter to see if someone took her there? I hope she comes home. BJ

  5. Hello Dora,

    I’m so so sorry to learn about Lulu’s disappearance. As you know I have one cat, Pepper, 14 years old, and I love her so much. I cannot imagine her disappearing and leaving me wondering what happened to her. I can imagine how you feel. Even if Lulu was not overly affectionate, it doesn’t matter. Neither is Pepper. But that doesn’t stop us humans from loving our cats with a purple passion!!! I will pray that she comes back. Lulu, come back!!!!!!!!! I like Amy’s theory about the crazy cat lady. You never know… sometimes I see a cat who comes to the door and I’m very tempted to take it in and declare it mine….

    Hang in there! Sending you cyber hugs!!

    Toine

    • Thanks Toine, and give Pepper an extra hug from me !

  6. Dora, I am so sorry to hear about your sweet Lulu. I would be absolutely heartbroken, too; it is so hard to lose a beloved kitty. I do hope she’ll somehow find her way home safe and sound.

  7. Ah Dora, I’m so sorry. We have been dog people until last fall when Miss Kitty came to live with us. My husband is totally gone for her. I know we would be crazy if she didn’t come back after we let her out. I know how you must feel. I know she’ll be missed.
    Thinking about you, Alice

    • Thanks, Dawn and Alice, for your support. Since I retired several years ago, I probably spend more time with my kitties than I do with people, so losing one really hurts a lot. Lulu often napped on the dining room table where I sit with my computer. Although she was not a very ‘interactive’ cat, I enjoyed her quiet presence while surfing the ‘net, working on my blog, etc. There’s something about cats that make them perfect companions for artists, writers, and ‘techies’.

  8. Oh, so sorry to hear about your kitty. She sounds so sweet. I think the worst thing is that you don’t know what happened to her and can’t help but wonder and worry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

